Pickering - ON

   Buying/Selling

A – LegalA- InsuranceA – Home InspectorA- Mortgage Broker

     Home

A – ElectricalA – RoofingA – PlumbingA – FlooringA – Home RenovationsA – Heating CoolingA – Windows Doors

Pickering is a city located in Southern Ontario, Canada, immediately east of Toronto in Durham Region. It was settled by primarily ethnic British colonists, starting in the 1770s.  The first recorded history of this area was made in 1669, when French Jesuit missionary François de Salignac de la Mothe-Fénelon noted reaching what he called the Seneca (more likely Onondaga) village of Gandatsetiagon, on the shores of Frenchman’s Bay.  British colonial settlers were steadily migrating into the area from eastern areas of Canada. The town was named after Pickering, North Yorkshire.

Pickering is home to the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station, an eight-reactor facility with a capacity of 4,120 megawatts. The first station, Pickering A, opened with four reactors in 1971. Ontario Power Generation, the plants’ operator, is the largest single employer in the city. In 2006, Profit magazine recognized Pickering as one of the top 10 cities in Canada for growing a business.

Pickering Town Centre is a two-story mall located in Pickering

Community Links

Education

Durham District School Board – http://ddsb.ca/Pages/default.aspx

Durham Catholic School Board – https://www.dcdsb.ca/en/index.aspx

 

Private Schools

Blaisdale Montessori School – http://www.blaisdale.com/

Hudson College – http://www.hudsoncollege.ca/

Pickering Christian School – http://www.pickeringcs.on.ca/

Pickering College – http://www.pickeringcollege.on.ca/

 

Colleges & Universities

Durham College – https://durhamcollege.ca/learning-sites/pickeringlearningsite

Centennial College – https://www.centennialcollege.ca/programs-courses/pickering-learning-site/

Academy of Learning Computer & Business College -http://www.academyoflearning.com/

Medical

Health Care Connect
Phone: 1-800-445-1822
Web: www.ontario.ca/healthcareconnect
Health Care Connect helps assist Ontarians in finding a family doctor.  People who are without a family doctor are referred to medical professionals such as nurse practitioners who are accepting new patients within the community.  Register by phone at 1-800-445-1822

 

Telehealth Ontario 
Phone: 1-866-797-0000
Web: http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/programs/telehealth/

 

Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP)

http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/programs/ohip/ or call their info line at 1-866-532-3161

Public Health

Durham Region Health Department – http://www.durham.ca/health.asp?nr=/departments/health/healthinside.htm

 

Hospitals & Clinics

Scarborough Hospital – http://www.tsh.to/

Lakeridge Health – https://www.lakeridgehealth.on.ca/en/index.asp

Gates Medical Centre – http://gatesmedical.squarespace.com/

Progress Centre Medical – http://progresscentremedical.com/

Medcheck Clinic – http://medcheckclinic.ca

  Professional

B – VeterinarianB – PhysiotherapyB – PharmacyB-AccountingB – ChiropractorB – DentistB – Optometrist

     Lifestyle

B – Pet SuppliesB – DaycareB – PhotographyB – AutoB – Furniture AppliancesB – Restaurant
Translate »
Menu